Foundation Color Hi Res-01.png

Mission Statement

The Foundation for Idaho History, is a private, IRS determined 501(c)(3) non-profit and serves as the fund raising, fund management  and endowment organization to support and promote Idaho history through the work of the Idaho State Historical Society, a state agency.


The Board is composed of representatives throughout the State who are leaders in their communities and are passionate about Idaho history.  In addition to ongoing fundraising programs, the Foundation organizes “Wine, Eats and Artifacts” events each year.

Board of Directors

Jessica Anderson

Mary Ann Arnold, President

Hope Benedict

Bill Butticci, ISHS Trustee 

Dixie Grant, Treasurer

Ernie Hoidal

Jim Johnston, ISHS Trustee

Alex LaBeau

David Leroy, J.D., Vice President

Mikkel McBride

Evelyn Self

Chris Smith, Secretary

Neal Squires

Justin Vipperman

Alice Whitney

Janet Gallimore, ISHS Executive Director

The Idaho State Historical Society, an executive branch agency, has gathered the state’s history since 1881 and is the steward for over 50,000 objects, 100,000 prehistoric specimens 130,000 feet of government records, 30,000 rolls of microfilm, 500,000 photographs, 5,000 films and videos, 3,100 oral histories, 32,000 maps, 25,000 books and periodicals and 74 historic structures. The Idaho State Historical Society illuminates our state’s future and helps people of all ages explore and appreciate Idaho’s rich past and learn more about themselves.


Preserving the past, enriching our future.